JEFFERSON CITY, MO – This St. Patrick’s Day weekend, make sure your luck doesn’t run out by planning ahead for a sober ride home should you choose to take part in the celebration. The Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety reminds motorists of the various options available to get everyone home safely. Designating a sober driver, calling a cab or using public transportation are just a few of those options.
In 2016, 177 people were killed and 641 were seriously injured in crashes that involved at least one substance-impaired driver. Many substance-impaired drivers are under 21. Missouri’s Zero Tolerance Law states that drivers under 21 years old caught with even a trace of alcohol in their system will have their licenses suspended.
“Removing impaired drivers continues to be a priority with law enforcement,” said Missouri State Highway Patrol Colonel Sandra Karsten. “We encourage all drivers to make safe choices so that everyone gets home safely.”
Consider some of the consequences of choosing to drive impaired:
You could lose your license for 90 days, be fined up to $500 and spend up to six months in jail. If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, those consequences are increased to an involuntary manslaughter charge which comes with up to seven years in jail, a $5,000 fine or both.
A second conviction can result in one year without a license, a $1,000 fine or one year in prison.You would also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car before reinstating driving privileges.
You could face numerous other fines, court costs, attorney fees, car towing and repair, lost time at work, etc. Not to mention the added embarrassment, potential loss and consequences after informing family, friends and employers.
To learn more, visit the Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety website at savemolives.com, or follow us on Facebook and Twitter at Save MO Lives. Don’t push your luck; don’t drive impaired!