Arrive Alive

Youth Seat Belts

Youth Seat Belts

Under the Graduated Driver License Law, teens from age 15-18 are required to wear their seat belt and it’s a primary offense if they don’t, meaning they can be pulled over solely for not wearing their seat belt. Teen seat belt use in Missouri is only 67 percent, much lower than state (79 percent) and national (86 percent) seat belt use.   Missouri has 28 schools with a seat belt usage rate of 50% or less.

Stats & Facts