2024 Highway Safety and Traffic Awards

Every two years, in conjunction with the Annual Highway Safety and Traffic Conference, the Missouri Department of Transportation recognizes individuals and organizations throughout the state for achievements in the field of roadway safety through its Highway Safety and Traffic Awards. 

Congratulations to this year's winners! 

Thank you to all of the nominees and winners for helping Missourians move toward zero serious injuries and fatalities on our roadways.

Regional Award Winners

BUPD Law Sign

Special Recognition

In addition to those who were selected for awards, the Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety would like to recognize and congratulate ALL individuals and organizations who were nominated for a regional award and/or statewide award. The common denominator that links all nominees is an unwavering commitment to safety.

2022 Nominees

2022 Highway Safety and Traffic Awards Judges

Along with those who are being recognized with awards, the Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety would like to extend gratitude to the judges for their efforts in recognizing Missouri's highway safety heroes.

Allmeroth is a 1995 graduate of the University of Missouri-Rolla (now Missouri S&T) with a degree in Civil Engineering. In her free time, she and her husband Anthony, enjoy spending time at the Lake with their three sons. 

Penny has received numerous awards, both locally and nationally, for her accomplishments, including the Missouri's Best Award, Toastmaster International Communication and Leadership Award, the National Lifesaver Award. and Missouri's top 50 people you should know. She met actor Christopher Reeve and was presented with the Outstanding Personal Achievement Award; and won the first National Think First Speaker of the Year. Penny was one of nine women to win the Missouri University Tribute to Outstanding Women Award and the University HealthCare’s Hope & Spirit Award. She was the recipient of the Tempe Humphrey Award in 2019 and most recently awarded the Missouri Driver Safety Education Distinguished Excellence in Traffic Safety Award by MODSEA. 

Penny was crowned the first Ms. Wheelchair USA at a national pageant held in Orlando, Florida.  She was featured on the HBO documentary with former actor, Christopher Reeve.  In addition, Penny has been featured in numerous magazines, including Rural Missouri, New Mobility, LIFE, and Women's World.