Enforcement
Law enforcement officers will begin issuing citations for violations of the hands-free law beginning January 1, 2025.
Penalties
- 1st conviction in two years: up to a $150 fine
- 2nd conviction in two years: up to a $250 fine
- 3rd or more conviction in two years: up to a $500 fine
If a violation occurs in a school or work zone, fines up to $500
If a violation occurs and causes a serious injury crash, up to six months in jail and/or fines up to $1,000
If a violation occurs and causes a fatal crash, up to seven years in prison
-
Read the Law Online
The new hands free law can be found in Section 304.822 of the Missouri Revised Code.
Missouri’s Hands-Free Law
In Missouri, it is illegal to hold or support a cell phone or an electronic communication device in your hand, lap, or other parts of the body while driving on Missouri roads.
Drivers can make or receive calls via hands-free devices, such as:
- Using Speakerphone
- Connecting their phone to the vehicle
- Using aftermarket Bluetooth devices
In most cases, functions that cannot be activated, deactivated, or initiated with a single swipe or touch are in violation.
What's Off-Limits?
With very few exceptions, anything that involves typing, scrolling, holding, or supporting a device while driving is off-limits. In addition, the law prohibits watching movies/videos as well as recording, posting, sending, or broadcasting videos, even if the phone is securely mounted. Prohibited use includes, but is not limited to:
-
Manually Dialing a Phone Number
-
Texting
-
Updating or Browsing Social Media
-
FaceTime or Video Calls
-
Browsing the Internet
-
Watching Videos
-
Playing Games
-
Taking Videos or Photos
Staying Connected and Compliant
- Use in-vehicle mounts to support a cell phone while driving
- Use hands-free or voice-operated functions, such as voice-to-text or virtual assistants
- Navigate with GPS/map displays while the cell phone or device is mounted. Engage navigation features while parked and prior to driving.
- Play music or audio apps while the cell phone or device is mounted. Connect audio features while parked and prior to driving.
Exceptions Include:
- Drivers reporting an emergency or crime to law enforcement, fire department, hospital or similar emergency entity
- Drivers holding or using cell phones and other electronic devices while lawfully stopped or parked
- First responders (law enforcement, fire, EMS, emergency roadside service, public utility), using electronic devices as part of their official duties
- Commercial truck drivers using a mobile data terminal
- Transit, for-hire (taxis), or network company (rideshares) drivers provided that the device is mounted or affixed to the vehicle
- Drivers cannot be stopped solely for violation of the law.